Skip to product information
1 of 2


Grainger – Shepherd’s Hey (arr. wind quintet) [PDF]

Grainger – Shepherd’s Hey (arr. wind quintet) [PDF]

Regular price $7.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $7.99 USD
Sale Sold out

Percy Aldridge Grainger: Shepherd’s Hey

arranged for wind quintet by Natheniel Siu

Listen on YouTube!


Flute, Oboe, Clarinet in B♭, Horn, Bassoon

(Transposition for Clarinet in A is available upon request. This will make the clarinet part having the same transposed key as the band version.)

Performance time

3' ー 5'


This frantically accelerating Morris dance is one of the best short pieces Grainger has ever written. This arrangement is in G major, same as the original piano setting, allowing the flute player to employ traditional English folk playing techniques as they wish. Drawing inspiration from the piano, the orchestral, as well as the band versions that Grainger did, the arrange aims to making this piece suit the ensemble as well as they could, whilst maintaining faithfulness to Graingers intentions.

For more information (transposition needs, or custom arrangement requests), please contact [ info (at) ]. We are happy to be of service!


Notesetter Publishing (c) 2020

View full details